kingpincooling.com

Go Back   kingpincooling.com > Overclocking & Modding > EVGA Overclocking

EVGA Overclocking Dedicated forum for EVGA Overclocking, my other job :)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-03-2016, 09:54 AM
Vellinious Vellinious is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 10
Default 980ti Classy overclock results - need an assist

I'm having some issues with getting what I would consider a decent core clock on this GPU. I've got the EK block on it. Thus far, I've been able to get it to run at 1563, but can't get it to run any higher than that, no matter what I do. I've tried 1.187v, 1.2, 1.212, 1.231....it loads up FS, and crashes within seconds.

Am I missing something?

76% ASIC...I can't tell you exactly, GPUz seems to be having issues with the latest version, as it's now telling me that ASIC quality is not supported on this GPU when I looked this morning.

Should I pump more voltage through it? Temps are staying pretty good. 34 to 35c....

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-03-2016, 10:00 AM
Vellinious Vellinious is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 10
Default

1.256v. No joy. Insta-crash. Tried various settings with KBoost on. Same thing.

I don't get it....
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-03-2016, 11:46 AM
CAxVIPER CAxVIPER is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 19
Default

You lost the silicon lottery. There is nothing to get and that is just the way things are when it comes to OC. At some point you are going to hit a wall and regardless of what you do it isn't going to be stable.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-03-2016, 07:49 PM
k|ngp|n's Avatar
k|ngp|n k|ngp|n is offline
PURE
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,230
Default

Adding core voltage will not help. 1576mhz FS is +1-2 delta better than the average Ti for sure on air cooling, but I realize your on water though, which makes the gpu more inline with average.
In some cases, adding vmem and Vpex can help the core speed a bump higher when pushing both the core and mem at same time.
Also K-boost can help too:

press ctrl + shift + middle mouse wheel on precision window and check k-boost feature then enable it and try.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-04-2016, 05:31 PM
Vellinious Vellinious is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 10
Default

Think dropping my ambient down around 5c would help?

Kboost didn't offer any additional core clock, or core clock stability. I tried a different PSu as well...thought maybe it'd offer better power. Or at least cleaner.

I only have a couple more weeks with these cards before my turn in the step up queue comes around. I'd love to see this one hit 1600 before I send it back. lol
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-04-2016, 07:39 PM
k|ngp|n's Avatar
k|ngp|n k|ngp|n is offline
PURE
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,230
Default

Yes, but it's not a given. really depends on scaling of your particular gpu.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-06-2016, 08:09 AM
Vellinious Vellinious is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 10
Default

Lowering the ambient helped keep 1567 a lot more stable, but it didn't help bring the core clock up. Have to say, I'm rather disappointed in these cards. I helped a buddy of mine with the bios for his 76.7% ASIC Extreme OC and it was hitting 1630ish with an AIO cooler. Meh...

Thanks for the input, man. I appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-07-2016, 09:36 PM
k|ngp|n's Avatar
k|ngp|n k|ngp|n is offline
PURE
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vellinious View Post
Lowering the ambient helped keep 1567 a lot more stable, but it didn't help bring the core clock up. Have to say, I'm rather disappointed in these cards. I helped a buddy of mine with the bios for his 76.7% ASIC Extreme OC and it was hitting 1630ish with an AIO cooler. Meh...

Thanks for the input, man. I appreciate it.
NP! 1630mhz for firestrike is very good for AIO

I'd say just enjoy whatever you have +/- 100mhz for gaming or daily use is
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-15-2016, 07:29 PM
Vellinious Vellinious is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 10
Default

What's the maximum voltage you'd suggest for the VRAM on water? I've been told not to use anything higher than 1.65v, but......that just seems like a pretty nominal increase.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-16-2016, 04:41 AM
k|ngp|n's Avatar
k|ngp|n k|ngp|n is offline
PURE
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,230
Default

I think 1.7-1.75v for regular use is fine. My benching cards have hours and hours logged at 1.88v+ with no issues, but i wouldn't advise to use that kind of voltage for daily use.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42 AM.

Contact Us - www.kingpincooling.com - Archive - Top
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3 Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.