kingpincooling.com

Go Back   kingpincooling.com > Overclocking & Modding > Overclocking

Overclocking Overclocking results and KPC hardware pron

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-26-2009, 05:38 AM
VasGTO's Avatar
VasGTO VasGTO is offline
Sub-Ambient
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 79
Default i7 920 DO

Just bought a new 920 do stepping... VERY DISAPPOINTED right now!

Thought I'd ask you guys since there are so many experienced OC here on this forum.

On stock air cooling , max OC is 4.0 ghz. 202 bclk.

Put in under dice... it was -68c and I couldn't OC a single megahertz more!!!

Have any of you guys ever run into this?

My old 920 co stepping got 4.6hz on air... To bad I fried it before I got kingpins F1

Last edited by VasGTO; 08-26-2009 at 05:39 AM. Reason: grammar
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-26-2009, 08:33 AM
Karmakazi's Avatar
Karmakazi Karmakazi is offline
Liquid Nitrogen
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Buffalo, NY, USA
Posts: 514
Send a message via MSN to Karmakazi
Default

What board are you using? Ram? Power supply?
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by glenboy View Post
super shammy ,you're a mad scientist, i always like looking at your bench setup it always looks like you trying to resurrect frankenstein
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-26-2009, 08:43 AM
VasGTO's Avatar
VasGTO VasGTO is offline
Sub-Ambient
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Karmakazi View Post
What board are you using? Ram? Power supply?
This is a gigabyte ex58-ud3r... My EVGA board is going through an RMA. Antec 1000 and corsair 1600.

My real question is "Has anyone seen a processor hit a brick wall?" meaning its done! 4.0ghz regardless of cooling or voltage.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-26-2009, 09:23 AM
Brian y.'s Avatar
Brian y. Brian y. is offline
PURE, Inc.
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: ATLanta, GA
Posts: 242
Send a message via MSN to Brian y.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VasGTO View Post
This is a gigabyte ex58-ud3r... My EVGA board is going through an RMA. Antec 1000 and corsair 1600.

My real question is "Has anyone seen a processor hit a brick wall?" meaning its done! 4.0ghz regardless of cooling or voltage.
It sound s like it is an IMC issue more than anything.....What are you running your ram at?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gomeler View Post
I propose kicking out 3oh6. He is Canadian, enough said. I propose kicking out this K|ngp|n fellow also, he is close enough to Canada to be Canadian. Let's chuck Andre in there while we are at it, can't be too safe.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gomeler
lookout W/orld! Brian Y is on fire tonight..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-26-2009, 11:54 AM
VasGTO's Avatar
VasGTO VasGTO is offline
Sub-Ambient
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian y. View Post
It sound s like it is an IMC issue more than anything.....What are you running your ram at?
I tried four different settings (x6-x12) from all with the same result... This is crazy!!! I don't like this motherboard anyway. I'm gonna return it for another brand. This board refuses to boot when I disable hyperthreading.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-26-2009, 01:31 PM
chispy's Avatar
chispy chispy is offline
PURE
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,148
Send a message via Yahoo to chispy
Default

Maybe its the board limit :/ , like my RIIE BCKL wall at 213 , i think we got lemon boards , im awaiting for my classi now , dumping this piece of s*it RIIE then. Vastgo try it in another board to test.

Angelo.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shammy View Post
you guys are the best
But im vinboe's bytch
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-26-2009, 07:08 PM
road-runner's Avatar
road-runner road-runner is offline
PURE
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 219
Default

Could be the cpu also, I have 2 D0s that are no better than my C0s. On the 6th 920 I got a decent one.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-01-2009, 01:30 AM
VasGTO's Avatar
VasGTO VasGTO is offline
Sub-Ambient
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 79
Angry

Got a little update... Either I can't figure out a Gigabyte board or the one I got is defective. Anyway, got a CHEAP MSI board from FRY"s. This thing boots with the Bclk @ 221. I'm impressed. (My EVGA can't boot past 185) Their oc utility is junk though, is stops at 211 on the Bclk. Thank goodness for stfsb, might have to make a donation... this utility works good on so many of my mother boards.

Despite all of this, I still can't seem to manage to find a processor that will go 5.0+ ghz The most I got was just under 4.7 on DICE
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-01-2009, 07:55 AM
Karmakazi's Avatar
Karmakazi Karmakazi is offline
Liquid Nitrogen
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Buffalo, NY, USA
Posts: 514
Send a message via MSN to Karmakazi
Default

i7 is a tricky beast to really get around. What voltages were you manipulating in bios and what were they set at?
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by glenboy View Post
super shammy ,you're a mad scientist, i always like looking at your bench setup it always looks like you trying to resurrect frankenstein
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 PM.

Contact Us - www.kingpincooling.com - Archive - Top
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3 Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.