kingpincooling.com

Go Back   kingpincooling.com > Overclocking & Modding > EVGA Overclocking

EVGA Overclocking Dedicated forum for EVGA Overclocking, my other job :)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #51  
Old 04-15-2014, 08:28 PM
hallowen1's Avatar
hallowen1 hallowen1 is offline
Sub-Ambient
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 71
Default

I have been thinking about possibly going to DICE or LN2 for the Graphics Cards for quite awhile now, although I have been Benching using Four EVGA GTX 780 Ti Kingpin Editions in 4-way SLI that will OC to a max of 1424MHz at 1.3375v / 1963MHz Memory (using EVBOT) on 10C Chilled Water Cooling.

This may sound like a stupid question, But Did Anyone ever try or hear of TiN's Power Limit Bypass Trick being applied on a KPE that is being Cooled by a Chilled Water Cooling System instead of DICE or LN2, or would that be a futile effort to even attempt this mod, which to my knowledge is not even necessary when you are using LN2 for Cooling these KPE's?
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 04-15-2014, 10:55 PM
TiN's Avatar
TiN TiN is offline
Volt-Nut :)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Taipei
Posts: 1,458
Send a message via ICQ to TiN Send a message via Skype™ to TiN
Default

Just use BIOS which k|ngp|n posted, no need any mods
But over 1400MHz will be likely thermally limited on your cooling, it's already very good what you got there.

If I would be you - i'd get 30-50L LN2, flash Vince's BIOS to one of cards, and try learn how it goes (only 1 card first). After you get to know how to scale card, you should be able get at least 1700MHz without much trouble.
Then test each card one by one, to make sure you know what's the weakest spot.
4-way needs lot of prep work, and you need to know exact settings to run.
Also LN2 consumption of 4-way + CPU on LN2 will be 25-50L per hour, so get plenty of resources on standby
__________________
xDevs.com
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 04-16-2014, 06:44 AM
hallowen1's Avatar
hallowen1 hallowen1 is offline
Sub-Ambient
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 71
Default

Thank You very much TiN, I really appreciate your reply on this matter.

I have been using skyn3t-KPE-BD.zip revision 5 vbios, But I will flash over to Vince's XOCKPti.rom and see how it works, Then eventually I must proceed to disassemble the EK 4-way Water Block system.
Obviously I'll have to start looking for an LN2 provider (I'm in Florida) and then purchase a Tek-9 Slim and other supplies before I can move forward with testing.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 04-16-2014, 09:10 AM
TiN's Avatar
TiN TiN is offline
Volt-Nut :)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Taipei
Posts: 1,458
Send a message via ICQ to TiN Send a message via Skype™ to TiN
Default

You might want to try some lower end VGAs first if you did not had experience with LN2 before. That will pay back greatly.
__________________
xDevs.com
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 04-16-2014, 10:23 AM
hallowen1's Avatar
hallowen1 hallowen1 is offline
Sub-Ambient
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 71
Default

Sounds like a plan, I may have to check out Ebay to find some cards.

Do You have any particular VGA series in mind I should start out with on LN2 Cooling?
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 04-16-2014, 12:43 PM
TiN's Avatar
TiN TiN is offline
Volt-Nut :)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Taipei
Posts: 1,458
Send a message via ICQ to TiN Send a message via Skype™ to TiN
Default

Anything you can find, best probably some older high-end cards, like GTX480, GTX580, GTX680. 680 is very similar to 780 series, in terms of way of overclocking.
__________________
xDevs.com
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 04-16-2014, 01:21 PM
hallowen1's Avatar
hallowen1 hallowen1 is offline
Sub-Ambient
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 71
Default

OK, I'll try and find a GTX 680 reference card since it was the first Kepler design and like you stated should overclock like a GTX 780.
I Had four GTX 580's in my previous 2012 Rig that I sold, But those were Fermi cards including the single GTX 480 I'm still using in my second PC.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 04-17-2014, 09:24 AM
Gunslinger's Avatar
Gunslinger Gunslinger is offline
PURE
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Decatur, AL
Posts: 902
Send a message via MSN to Gunslinger
Default

Try and find a 680 Classy with EVBot port, if you opt for a reference you're going to need to do plenty of vmods to get it up to speed.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 04-17-2014, 09:46 AM
hallowen1's Avatar
hallowen1 hallowen1 is offline
Sub-Ambient
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 71
Default

Thanks Gunslinger, I'll be on the lookout for a Classy w/EVBot port, although that probably won't be very Cheap or easy to come by.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 04-19-2014, 11:14 AM
hallowen1's Avatar
hallowen1 hallowen1 is offline
Sub-Ambient
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 71
Default

Managed to find some EVGA GTX 680 Classifieds WITHOUT the EVBot Port, But I'll have to wait a little longer until I'm sure my "Special" order arrives from Overseas......


Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 AM.

Contact Us - www.kingpincooling.com - Archive - Top
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3 Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.