kingpincooling.com

Go Back   kingpincooling.com > Overclocking & Modding > Shamino's Lair

Shamino's Lair The master himself, Shamino.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 02-11-2010, 03:33 PM
Evocarlos's Avatar
Evocarlos Evocarlos is offline
Sub-Ambient
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: by the lamp
Posts: 56
Default

hey guys
do this look right for 5870?


5x 820-2.5v core
2x 561-6.3v mem bit
2x 820-2.5v for the 2nd voltra controler (i dont know what its for) lol
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 02-11-2010, 03:50 PM
BustaH BustaH is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 14
Default

very nice clean work carl....does the card still work?
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 02-11-2010, 03:52 PM
Evocarlos's Avatar
Evocarlos Evocarlos is offline
Sub-Ambient
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: by the lamp
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BustaH View Post
very nice clean work carl....does the card still work?
thanks b

lol im not sure yet its untested im trying for the 1100 core on air its like -5c in the batcave atm so ideal opatuity to try for more on air
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 02-11-2010, 04:03 PM
Dualist's Avatar
Dualist Dualist is offline
Sub-Ambient
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 55
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BustaH View Post
does the card still work?
Very good question Martin. But Carl, I ain't gonna be able to RMA that for ya mate if it's fecked
__________________
נְפִילִים
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 05-20-2010, 07:05 AM
wesjuhdabomb wesjuhdabomb is offline
Sub-Ambient
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 52
Default

Had 2 HD3850 256mb while one was dead.. So time for the other to do this mod pics:

2 cards:


12v input stability:


Vcore stability:


Final pic with vmods:



Testing results:

vcore @1,354v (stock) & 837mhz gpu:
idle: 1.354
load: 1.350

vcore @1,454v & 900mhz gpu:
idle: 1.454
load: 1.449

vmem @2.14v (stock) & 1000mhz mem:
idle: 2.14v
load: 2.14v

12v on card@ 900mhz gpu, 1000mhz mem:
idle: 12.06
load: 11.96

12v psu:
idle : 12.11
load: 12.04
__________________

Last edited by wesjuhdabomb; 05-20-2010 at 08:04 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 05-23-2010, 02:07 PM
Mack4033 Mack4033 is offline
Sub-Ambient
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 50
Default

Any volts mods for the 295 Coop

Thanks,
Mack4033
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 05-24-2010, 07:11 PM
G H Z's Avatar
G H Z G H Z is offline
sb cant touch this
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 424
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shammy View Post
First find which power source the slot gives by doing continuity check with the pin on the pcie

Question: a continuity check between this location and your 6+2-Pin connectors to verify it's on the same rail?
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 07-12-2010, 01:08 PM
Evocarlos's Avatar
Evocarlos Evocarlos is offline
Sub-Ambient
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: by the lamp
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G H Z View Post
Question: a continuity check between this location and your 6+2-Pin connectors to verify it's on the same rail?
i think sham means probe the pci-x pin to the inducters to find which ones are powered from the mobo and then from the pci-x 6pin plugs to inducters to find which ones are fed from the 6pin's
this pin is connected --


-- to these inducters


i really came one to say ive redone my cap mod on a diffrent 5870




the score is poo poo but i was relly trying for the gpu clock

Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 09-13-2010, 01:03 AM
reggiesanchez reggiesanchez is offline
Sub-Ambient
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: OHIO
Posts: 65
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shammy View Post
Ok so you can solder one or two molex connectors to the card at the appropriate leg of inductor, with the yellow +12v wire there of course:.
Great guide thank you for sharing. I read this a few months back an there is still one thing I am confused about. Are you saying it is safe to add power straight to the choke like that. If so would this be worthwhile on a single rail psu? Or did I misunderstand and you are just using for a measuring point.

Last edited by reggiesanchez; 09-13-2010 at 01:05 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 09-13-2010, 01:45 AM
TiN's Avatar
TiN TiN is offline
Volt-Nut :)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Taipei
Posts: 1,458
Send a message via ICQ to TiN Send a message via Skype™ to TiN
Default

reggiesanchez

Input +12V inductors just used as bypass filters/current capacitors feeding mosfets. They are connected to +12V input power plane anyway onboard, by adding direct connector/wires to it you just lower resistance for high-current path. Do not confuse that input conductors with high-power output inductors, or you will burn your card!

These mods not related to single or multi rail psus Actually 99.9% of all PC PSUs are single rail, but most have extra current shutoff divided lines .
__________________
xDevs.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 AM.

Contact Us - www.kingpincooling.com - Archive - Top
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3 Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.