kingpincooling.com

Go Back   kingpincooling.com > Overclocking & Modding > EVGA Overclocking

EVGA Overclocking Dedicated forum for EVGA Overclocking, my other job :)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-25-2012, 01:53 PM
BETA. BETA. is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
Default Need to locate EEPROM bios chip for gtx 680

long story short, I bricked my pair of 680 4GB FTW LE by flashing the wrong bios. Windows doesn't detect and NVFLASH in DOS doesn't detect. After hours of researching this particular no display/no detect issue I have come to the conclusion that the bios needs to be erased to reflash again. I came here to see if anybody knows where the bios chip is for gtx 680 cards and what parts do I need to connect to erase bios so I can reflash.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-25-2012, 01:59 PM
M3kk M3kk is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 26
Send a message via MSN to M3kk Send a message via Yahoo to M3kk
Default

Hello. Did you try this? http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads...h%205.127.html

Do you have a PCI slot/PCI vga card?
If not, u need to try the "blind flash method.."
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-25-2012, 02:44 PM
BETA. BETA. is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M3kk View Post
Hello. Did you try this? http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads...h%205.127.html

Do you have a PCI slot/PCI vga card?
If not, u need to try the "blind flash method.."
As I mentioned before, I tried NVflash... to no avail because the bricked card isn't detected. I did also use the latest version as well. I am just trying to find out whether or not I can ground the bios and reset it physically and if so, where can I locate the bios chip?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-26-2012, 12:06 PM
Bobnova Bobnova is offline
Sub-Zero
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 145
Default

Start hunting for eight legged ICs and checking their part numbers via alldatasheet/google/etc.
If you're lucky, one of them is the BIOS chip.
If you're unlucky, it's in the core or something.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-26-2012, 01:32 PM
BETA. BETA. is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobnova View Post
Start hunting for eight legged ICs and checking their part numbers via alldatasheet/google/etc.
If you're lucky, one of them is the BIOS chip.
If you're unlucky, it's in the core or something.
Thanks for the advice, i'll do just that... gonna be a long day.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-26-2012, 08:25 PM
TiN's Avatar
TiN TiN is offline
Volt-Nut :)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Taipei
Posts: 1,458
Send a message via ICQ to TiN Send a message via Skype™ to TiN
Default

Serial Flash chip cannot be erased physically, it needs erase command to be sent to it.
Try with PCI VGA in another slot, and check what nvflash -c option show you.
In most of cases from wrong reflash - card physically still detected, just no display output.

If nvflash -c will give you GK104 something something - than you will need just to reflash it as usual under DOS NVFLASH.
__________________
xDevs.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-27-2012, 12:59 AM
BETA. BETA. is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TiN View Post
Serial Flash chip cannot be erased physically, it needs erase command to be sent to it.
Try with PCI VGA in another slot, and check what nvflash -c option show you.
In most of cases from wrong reflash - card physically still detected, just no display output.

If nvflash -c will give you GK104 something something - than you will need just to reflash it as usual under DOS NVFLASH.
Do I NEED to have a PCI card? I am using my spare gtx 460 in the primary and have my dead gtx 680 in the secondary. When I am in DOS mode and execute the nvflash -c. Only information of GTX 460 is displayed. Nothing else is, no GK104 - nothing. The fan still spins from the gtx 680, but is there a possbility I may have killed the card?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-27-2012, 09:56 PM
Bobnova Bobnova is offline
Sub-Zero
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 145
Default

If you can find the chip and it's a chip the Bus Pirate supports, that may work.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-13-2013, 11:34 AM
BlackBall BlackBall is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Default

Hello BETA. I would like to know if you succeed to solve your issue?

I actually have the same issue as you but with a MSI GTX 670 PE.
After a flash of my bios (normally a good one) my GPU isn't detected by Nvflash or Windows.

Please answer me if you find how fix this. Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42 PM.

Contact Us - www.kingpincooling.com - Archive - Top
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3 Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.