kingpincooling.com

Go Back   kingpincooling.com > Overclocking & Modding > EVGA Overclocking

EVGA Overclocking Dedicated forum for EVGA Overclocking, my other job :)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #81  
Old 01-18-2013, 12:58 PM
Aonoa
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hello,

My cards seem unable to handle higher than 1.2685v without causing my computer to shutdown. I thought these cards should be able to handle 1.3v or even higher? The temperatures are seemingly kept cool enough by the stock air cooling, not even reaching 70C under load with a custom fan profile. I am wondering if this is a natural limit of my cards or if I could do something about it? Would I fare better with water cooling?

OCP setting on normal (extreme setting did not seem to do much) and power target at 131%, only boosted the GPU clock while keeping the mem clock on default.

Thank you for any insight. :-)

Last edited by Aonoa; 01-18-2013 at 01:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 01-18-2013, 06:04 PM
Xtreme Addict's Avatar
Xtreme Addict Xtreme Addict is offline
PURE
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 283
Default

maybe PSU too weak?
__________________
ASUS Polish Overclocking Championship 2010 #1st
MSI MOA 2012 EMEA - #1st
MSI MOA 2012 WW FINALS - #7th
ASUS Open Overclocking Cup AOOC 2012 - #1st
MSI MOA 2013 EMEA Qualifier - #2nd
ASUS Open Overclocking Cup AOOC 2013 - #3rd
MSI MOA 2013 WW FINALS - #3rd
Galaxy GOOC 2013 Finals - #12th
HyperX OC Takeover HOT Final CES 2014 - #1st
G.skill OC World Cup 2014 - #3rd
HyperX OC Takeover HOT 2014 Computex - #1st
Intel OC Challenge Computex 2014 - #1st
MSI MOA 2014 WW Finals - #12th
ASUS Open Overclocking Cup AOOC 2014 -#2nd
Galaxy GOOC 2014 Finals -#4th
HyperX OC Takeover HOT Final CES 2015 - #1st
G.skill OC World Cup 2015 - #5
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 01-18-2013, 06:19 PM
Aonoa
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I doubt it, considering I have the NEX 1500. I have it connected directly in a wall outlet, and if the fuse was too weak I imagine there would be other consequences should my PSU attempt to draw too much.
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 01-18-2013, 08:51 PM
TiN's Avatar
TiN TiN is offline
Volt-Nut :)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Taipei
Posts: 1,458
Send a message via ICQ to TiN Send a message via Skype™ to TiN
Default

How did you connect your VGA/CPU to PSU? Maybe you just overload some rail, so switch to single-rail mode or reconnect wires to another plugs
__________________
xDevs.com
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 01-18-2013, 09:34 PM
Aonoa
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I had completely forgotten about the rail configuration, and it may indeed have been the culprit, since it was on multi. I have changed it to single rail now, and early tests seem to indicate success. Thank you. :-)
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 01-18-2013, 09:46 PM
TiN's Avatar
TiN TiN is offline
Volt-Nut :)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Taipei
Posts: 1,458
Send a message via ICQ to TiN Send a message via Skype™ to TiN
Default

Welcome
For overclocking I'd suggest use single rail, or watch proper distribution per rails.

Multirail fit's better for 24/7 scenario with increased safety. As you saw - that's working quite nicely shutting down your PC when power draws go beyond the limits
__________________
xDevs.com
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 01-19-2013, 01:22 AM
Bobnova Bobnova is offline
Sub-Zero
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 145
Default

Keep in mind that the labels on the plugs do not indicate what rail the plugs are on! Makes it a bit confusing to choose which PCIe plugs to use

Drove myself nuts testing the thing till I figured that out. Eventually said to hell with it and tested in single rail mode.
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 09-14-2013, 06:13 AM
CHN Overclocking's Avatar
CHN Overclocking CHN Overclocking is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 4
Default

In China EVGA rarely sell bad
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 09-14-2013, 06:18 AM
CHN Overclocking's Avatar
CHN Overclocking CHN Overclocking is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 4
Default

I tried 1.175V I am a student not have money
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 PM.

Contact Us - www.kingpincooling.com - Archive - Top
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3 Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.