kingpincooling.com

Go Back   kingpincooling.com > Overclocking & Modding > EVGA Overclocking

EVGA Overclocking Dedicated forum for EVGA Overclocking, my other job :)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-24-2013, 10:58 AM
Oj0's Avatar
Oj0 Oj0 is offline
PURE
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Africa
Posts: 353
Default Not Extreme, but need help with an SR-2

Hi guys, long time no visit

I recently bought myself an SR-2 rig, the specs are as follows:

2x Xeon E5645 hexcore CPUs
EVGA Classified SR-2 Motherboard
8x 4 GB Patriot G2.Series DDR3-1600
2x Gigabyte GeForce GTX 580 SuperOverclock, not in SLI
Intel 320 Series 120 GB SSD
Various hard drives amounting to 7.5 TB
Corsair Obsidian 800D case
Corsair HX1050 PSU

The rig's main job is to run World Community Grid, but I'm having a strange slow-down issue when passing about 185 MHz BCLK. Even though World Community Grid runs at full speed, the machine become unusable. Even playing music happens at about half speed (distorted, low pitch). It's perfectly stable, WCG work units validate fine and run at the correct speed but I can't use the machine to do anything else. When gaming the FPS often drops to the single digits, the cursor is jerky even in Windows, etc.

Any idea how to resolve this? While it's nice knowing that WCG is running fine at 205x18 for 3.69 GHz, I have to drop to 180x18 for 3.24 GHz to make the machine usable for anything else
__________________
REAL NAME JONATHAN


ROCKING, ER, CLOCKING IT OLD SKOOL

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-04-2013, 03:19 AM
k|ngp|n's Avatar
k|ngp|n k|ngp|n is offline
PURE
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,226
Default

Hey buddy...can u list your specs? All your voltages and settings?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-04-2013, 03:23 PM
Oj0's Avatar
Oj0 Oj0 is offline
PURE
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Africa
Posts: 353
Default

Hey Vince, coming up. I didn't list them in the OP because I didn't think voltages would be at play here. Settings are exactly the same for both CPUs:

CPU Vcore: 1.300v
CPU VTT: 1.350v
CPU PLL: 1.800v
IOH Vcore: 1.350v
IOH 1.8v: 1.800v
VDIMM: 1.650v
NF200: 1.200v
I/O 1.5v: 1.500v
ICH 1.05v: 1.050v
CPU DQ Vref: -0.010v

Frequencies:
BCLK: 182 MHz
Multiplier: 19x
RAM: 730 MHz (DDR3-1460)
PCIE: 101 MHz (old habit)
PCI: 33.3 MHz

Memory:
CAS: 8T
tRCD: 8T
rTP: 8T
tRAS: 20T
tRFC: 107T
CR: 1T
__________________
REAL NAME JONATHAN


ROCKING, ER, CLOCKING IT OLD SKOOL

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-06-2013, 11:39 PM
movieman movieman is offline
Sub-Zero
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 108
Default

I can answer this. The issue is the nVidia cards. Unfortunately WCG is coded with Open CL and the nVidia cards are CUDA. They will work on WCG but the AMD Open CL cards work 3-4 times better..It's not that AMD cards are better, just the type of coding that WCG chose.. Now if we could get EVGA nVidia cards that are coded in open cl that would be the best of both worlds IMHO..
I have an old Saffire 5870 card on one machine and no stumbling or issues but on my 2600K machine I have a EVGA 460GTX card and it stumbles..Sorry, just the way it is.
I also think and JMHO is that 180+BCLK for a daily machijne is pushing things.
I found that staying under 175 was best for me and that 165 was the sweet spot BUT I had the advantage of using higher multi X5680's and X5690's

Last edited by movieman; 03-06-2013 at 11:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-07-2013, 01:23 PM
Oj0's Avatar
Oj0 Oj0 is offline
PURE
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Africa
Posts: 353
Default

Hey Dave, we've had this discussion before but this time I'm NOT asking for 24/7 settings. I merely mentioned WCG as a point that even though I'm stable on all 24 threads and they cope with load, the system slows down. Even if I just run SuperPi on one thread, the system slows down - the mouse gets laggy for the duration of the run, music slows down to half speed or lower, the Start Menu takes about five seconds to open, etc.

No, this time I'm not looking for stability. I'm looking at HWBOT
__________________
REAL NAME JONATHAN


ROCKING, ER, CLOCKING IT OLD SKOOL

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-07-2013, 01:28 PM
Oj0's Avatar
Oj0 Oj0 is offline
PURE
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Africa
Posts: 353
Default

Oh, let me just add: The slow downs start at 182 MHz BCLK, I can JUUUUUUST hear a bit of popping if I play "clean" music. They get worse and worse as I approach 200 MHz, at which point it becomes unusable but 2D benchmarks retain their speed - hell, I 19.4 points in Cinebench at 199 MHz BCLK. Over that, well, it doesn't always boot. I know the CPUs are far from maxed out, as if I run a single thread of SuperPi it Turbos to almost 4.2 GHz. I'm at 1.300v vCore and think I'll brave pushing up to 1.400v for "light" benchmarks (i.e. not Cinebench, WPrime or Vantage).
__________________
REAL NAME JONATHAN


ROCKING, ER, CLOCKING IT OLD SKOOL

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-24-2014, 09:15 AM
solidSnake solidSnake is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
Default Hi! I'm having the same issue on my rig

I have the same board. The issue only happens when I connect cpu1 with cpu0. I even swapped the position of both cpu's and the same thing happened, but doesn't happen when i disable cpu core1.

I recently installed a quadro k5000 and blow out ever last driver for my old AMD and ATI video drivers an same issue.

Did you ever find a fix for this issue? And if so what did u do?!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-24-2014, 03:13 PM
Oj0's Avatar
Oj0 Oj0 is offline
PURE
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Africa
Posts: 353
Default

Hey man, I didn't come right. It was for an HWBOT challenge but that's come and gone so I had no reason to keep trying. What I've done is settle for a slower but much cooler 3.2 GHz at 1.12v for 24/7 use. The extra few hundred MHz just isn't worth the 20'c difference in temperature, especially now that it's summer and our daytime temperatures can hit over 40'c.
__________________
REAL NAME JONATHAN


ROCKING, ER, CLOCKING IT OLD SKOOL

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-14-2014, 10:47 AM
jakstak jakstak is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1
Default

I run multiple gpus and found the slow down you are describing,
In the bios mem settings set the mem gap to 3g, that sorted the problem out for me,
Hopefully it may help you too
JS

I also would like some info on the sr2 but couldn't find anything,
Next to the 24pin socket there is a jumper marked JIOH,
I would like to know what position it is meant to be in or a basic explanation of what the jumper does,
Thank you

Last edited by jakstak; 03-14-2014 at 10:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 PM.

Contact Us - www.kingpincooling.com - Archive - Top
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3 Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.