kingpincooling.com

Go Back   kingpincooling.com > Overclocking & Modding > EVGA Overclocking

EVGA Overclocking Dedicated forum for EVGA Overclocking, my other job :)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-12-2016, 12:59 AM
Uing's Avatar
Uing Uing is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nrpeyton View Post
Kingpin, Thank you very much; I also like the little touch it has with Defender to deter people who don't know what they are doing lol. good thinking :-)

Definitely moving in the right direction here; this round Classified owners have really had a hard time and it is a true breath of fresh air to see someone out there who cares :-)

now...Only had about an hour to test this tonight; been really busy with work etc...

but..so far....
Not entirely sure what is happening yet; GPU Boost 3.0 could be to blame.

The tool is definitely doing "something" as my power reading shoots up (or down) on HWINFO64 as I *apply* voltages on the tool. -- even though the reported voltages in Precision/GPU-Z/HWinfo64 stay the same. :-)

Is there another way to get an accurate voltage reading? \/ reason below:

One quick test I did was a +150 clock offset in Precision (about 2152mhz +/- 23mhz) with a normal voltage of 1.093v ...ran fine...(but then when I applied the *same* voltage using the tool it crashed.

I should have a bit more time to play around more over the weekend so I'll have a proper look when I've got more time. Test above might have just been something else....

Anyway nice work Kingpin this is definitely a fantastic step in the right direction.

For the "upcoming" over-clocker; this is where the fun all begins. (Before having the confidence to eventually move onto more Extreme LN2 benching for example) :-)

Best regards, back soon.
You need a multimeter and connect the "Probe-It Cable", 1st pin is NVVDD and 2rd is GND.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-12-2016, 08:36 AM
nrpeyton nrpeyton is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 26
Default

Came home for lunch today (from work) and got 30 minutes.

Just repeated lasts nights experiment and applying the same voltage on the tool with what was already being displayed didn't crash driver this time. Very good news :-)

I think its time I invested in a multi-meter so will be going shopping for this as soon as I get an afternoon free (hopefully this Sunday).

Will be back then.

Quick question: Is this one of the pins on the evbot connection on graphics card (next to power connections)?

Last edited by nrpeyton; 11-12-2016 at 08:55 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-12-2016, 10:28 AM
johnd0e's Avatar
johnd0e johnd0e is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 18
Default

No the probe it/dmm connect is next to the evbot connector, its a thin connector with every pin in line. Touch the outer two pins with DMM probe to read your core voltage.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-12-2016, 01:00 PM
nrpeyton nrpeyton is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 26
Default

ahh yess I see it now; thanks... so left two pins :-)

I'll be shopping for multimeter tomorrow afternoon.

Any specifications I need to look out for/recommendations?

I want to also be able to do a few basic mods in the future too as my confidence grows.

Thanks,

Nick
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-12-2016, 04:20 PM
johnd0e's Avatar
johnd0e johnd0e is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 18
Default

quick and dirty picture showing each pin. every other pin is a ground, so from left to right: vcore(GPU) - grnd - mem(dimm) - grnd - io(PLL) - grnd - pch(3.3v) - grand - vsa(12v) - grnd



hope that helps.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20161112_160128.jpg (120.7 KB, 8 views)
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-12-2016, 06:06 PM
nrpeyton nrpeyton is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 26
Default

excellent thank you :-)
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-13-2016, 12:16 AM
Uing's Avatar
Uing Uing is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 12
Default

QQ??20161113132104.jpg

QQ??20161113132149.jpg

I guess you may need this pic:
QQ??20150312215017.jpg

Last edited by Uing; 11-13-2016 at 12:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-13-2016, 01:18 PM
nrpeyton nrpeyton is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 26
Default

thanks.

Just got home with my new multimeter.

Tool seems to be working perfectly :-)

Thanks so much Kingpin you are a legend :-)
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-13-2016, 01:38 PM
nrpeyton nrpeyton is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 26
Default

Quick run showing 2177mhz more stable at higher voltage:
2177mhz @ 1093mv -> 21782 http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/16027936
2177mhz @ 1150mv -> 22161 http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/16028633

My baseline will be low due to old AMD-FX CPU
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-14-2016, 07:01 AM
alientek alientek is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 2
Default

Could this tool change the voltage of EVGA 1080 FTW?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 AM.

Contact Us - www.kingpincooling.com - Archive - Top
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3 Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.