kingpincooling.com

Go Back   kingpincooling.com > Overclocking & Modding > EVGA Overclocking

EVGA Overclocking Dedicated forum for EVGA Overclocking, my other job :)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-24-2014, 12:02 PM
StrategosSan's Avatar
StrategosSan StrategosSan is offline
Sub-Ambient
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 51
Default

Thank you TiN, your sharing is great for the community.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-25-2014, 07:44 AM
slapmehard slapmehard is offline
Sub-Ambient
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 83
Default

I did not want ref card since I wont put an assend on it but jeez looks like so much fun.
Thanks once again for the info Tin I really love how you put up with us
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-27-2014, 02:31 AM
rsannino rsannino is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Italy
Posts: 10
Send a message via MSN to rsannino Send a message via Skype™ to rsannino
Default

Thanks for sharing this guide.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-07-2014, 05:21 AM
**dp** **dp** is offline
PURE
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 22
Default

hmmm.. my card burned up..

what did I do wrong?

EDIT: Tin - vcore readout.. could you show me?

I only did vcore + limiter.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg gtx980 burned.jpg (253.3 KB, 61 views)

Last edited by **dp**; 10-07-2014 at 05:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-08-2014, 06:07 AM
slapmehard slapmehard is offline
Sub-Ambient
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 83
Default

You did the mod without knowing the read point bro?
try the spot In red on the inductor(or the other side of it) there may be a spot on the back but I don't have the ref card to see it myself




Well I hope someone can help you fix that...








I know there is no help for this card there to thin I tell ya

Last edited by slapmehard; 10-08-2014 at 06:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-08-2014, 02:44 PM
**dp** **dp** is offline
PURE
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 22
Default

I tried on another card. Shunt mod works like a charm.. the vmod does not. Iam running the vcore mod only. card dies ASAP after modding... uncool.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-13-2014, 03:05 PM
lkozarov lkozarov is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 3
Default

Hi
Is it hardware mod necessary for power limit? Can I make VCore mod and use BIOS mod for power limit, instead of hard mod?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-13-2014, 09:57 PM
TiN's Avatar
TiN TiN is offline
Volt-Nut :)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Taipei
Posts: 1,458
Send a message via ICQ to TiN Send a message via Skype™ to TiN
Default

You can sure bypass power limit by BIOS.
And no, I don't have BIOS without power limit available, no need ask for it.
__________________
xDevs.com
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-24-2014, 06:32 AM
finas finas is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2
Default

Guys,
I would like a clean solution to increase vcore and vmem by only a small amount on my reference GTX980 card, say something like 0.1v on memory and 0.05 to 0.1v on vcore. What resistance would I need for this ?

My card does 1557MHZ@1.218v with a custom bios I made with power limits removed. Anything more and I start seeing artifacts and driver crashes. I would like to reach 1600MHZ or a bit more, nothing fancy.

Memory is doing 4000MHZ and so I would like to push it a bit more too.

I also have another question, this time related to furmark: Has anyone tried to run furmark with TDP removed for more than a couple of minutes with an overclocked GTX 980 ? I had to increase TDP limit to 400W in bios for furmark to not throotle and I'm unsure if the power circuitry on the reference card can stand that much power draw without burning.

Thanks!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-24-2014, 09:51 PM
TiN's Avatar
TiN TiN is offline
Volt-Nut :)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Taipei
Posts: 1,458
Send a message via ICQ to TiN Send a message via Skype™ to TiN
Default

You can try with 100 ohms VR set to max, adjust slowly till you get your +0.1V and then remove resistor, measure it with DMM, and solder fixed resistor of that value (for example you measure 28 ohm, so you can pop 27 or 30 ohms 0603 SMD resistor to card). It will be way more stable and less risk borking card by accident.

Why would you want to test furmark on reference card ? I would not feel safe doing that on reference card
__________________
xDevs.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
evga, ln2, mad engineers, maxwell, modding guide, oc, trim pot


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 PM.

Contact Us - www.kingpincooling.com - Archive - Top
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3 Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.