kingpincooling.com

Go Back   kingpincooling.com > Overclocking & Modding > TiN's Dungeon

TiN's Dungeon The mad engineer's home at KPC.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #431  
Old 07-15-2016, 08:46 AM
Mave74
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post GTX 970 HARD MOD

Mod Request
VGA
ZOTAC GTX 970 AMP! Extreme
What do I need? Voltage
Describe: I already got my Voltage mod and shunts shorted, but in short, when I am under load and I add Voltage (from 1.234 --> 1.29, sth.) my clock goes DOWN (from 1550->1530) otherwhise it would NOT be stable anymore. I've asked many people, couldnt find help :/

Thanks TiN!
Reply With Quote
  #432  
Old 07-15-2016, 10:27 AM
DR4G00N's Avatar
DR4G00N DR4G00N is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 13
Default

That makes sense, I'll try it later today if I have time.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #433  
Old 07-17-2016, 04:10 AM
TiN's Avatar
TiN TiN is offline
Volt-Nut :)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Taipei
Posts: 1,451
Send a message via ICQ to TiN Send a message via Skype™ to TiN
Default

Mave74 Welcome,

Most of Maxwell GPUs not scale with voltage on air/water, it is known. You can read OC guides for 980KPE/980Ti KPE, where this was covered in detail. 970 is similar behavior.
__________________
xDevs.com
Reply With Quote
  #434  
Old 07-17-2016, 04:10 AM
TiN's Avatar
TiN TiN is offline
Volt-Nut :)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Taipei
Posts: 1,451
Send a message via ICQ to TiN Send a message via Skype™ to TiN
Default

Mave74 Welcome,

Most of Maxwell GPUs not scale with voltage on air/water, it is known. You can read OC guides for 980KPE/980Ti KPE, where this was covered in detail. 970 is similar behavior.
__________________
xDevs.com
Reply With Quote
  #435  
Old 07-17-2016, 05:06 AM
Oj0's Avatar
Oj0 Oj0 is offline
PURE
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Africa
Posts: 353
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mave74 View Post
Mod Request
VGA
ZOTAC GTX 970 AMP! Extreme
What do I need? Voltage
Describe: I already got my Voltage mod and shunts shorted, but in short, when I am under load and I add Voltage (from 1.234 --> 1.29, sth.) my clock goes DOWN (from 1550->1530) otherwhise it would NOT be stable anymore. I've asked many people, couldnt find help :/

Thanks TiN!
You need more cold, not more voltage. At that frequency you're going to be wanting to keep your load temperature well below 60'c. More voltage isn't going to help you in the slightest, even if you go up to 1.350v or higher. You'll find you have less and less stability as your voltage increases unless you get that card colder.
__________________
REAL NAME JONATHAN


ROCKING, ER, CLOCKING IT OLD SKOOL

Reply With Quote
  #436  
Old 07-17-2016, 11:40 AM
Mave74
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oj0 View Post
You need more cold, not more voltage. At that frequency you're going to be wanting to keep your load temperature well below 60'c. More voltage isn't going to help you in the slightest, even if you go up to 1.350v or higher. You'll find you have less and less stability as your voltage increases unless you get that card colder.
Well understandable, but I have watercooling and it keeps the card at the mid 30's while furmarking, if thats a word :P
Reply With Quote
  #437  
Old 07-17-2016, 11:42 AM
Mave74
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TiN View Post
Mave74 Welcome,

Most of Maxwell GPUs not scale with voltage on air/water, it is known. You can read OC guides for 980KPE/980Ti KPE, where this was covered in detail. 970 is similar behavior.
So there is no way around that if I am on watercooling hovering about 30's on full load? If there is no way, can I at least volt-mod the memory and get something out of that? Currently 2215MHz Mem on 1.6 Volt
Reply With Quote
  #438  
Old 07-18-2016, 12:26 AM
Oj0's Avatar
Oj0 Oj0 is offline
PURE
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Africa
Posts: 353
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mave74 View Post
Well understandable, but I have watercooling and it keeps the card at the mid 30's while furmarking, if thats a word :P
Like I said, well below 60'c for the speeds you're getting. On a good card below 60'c I'd expect around 1,600 MHz max, on a typical sample around 1,550 MHz.

Your next step is going to be around 20'c under load, which should get you another 50 MHz or so. From here on the scaling is small and comes with massive temperature reductions.
__________________
REAL NAME JONATHAN


ROCKING, ER, CLOCKING IT OLD SKOOL

Reply With Quote
  #439  
Old 07-18-2016, 11:09 AM
Mave74
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oj0 View Post
Like I said, well below 60'c for the speeds you're getting. On a good card below 60'c I'd expect around 1,600 MHz max, on a typical sample around 1,550 MHz.

Your next step is going to be around 20'c under load, which should get you another 50 MHz or so. From here on the scaling is small and comes with massive temperature reductions.
So it's smarter to leave the voltage at 1.205 volt where the card hits 1560MHz? and maybe focus on the memory because I got that also watercooled
Reply With Quote
  #440  
Old 07-18-2016, 08:08 PM
TiN's Avatar
TiN TiN is offline
Volt-Nut :)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Taipei
Posts: 1,451
Send a message via ICQ to TiN Send a message via Skype™ to TiN
Default

Yes, you are hovering with nice speeds there, I'd be happy to leave it as is. Even if you spend lots of effort and risk (e.g. chilled loop) to get magical 1600MHz, it would not be stable everywhere at max perf.

You can try memory at 1.7V-1.725V, perhaps you'll get hundred meg or so from that, for what it's worth
__________________
xDevs.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
modifications, request of support, vmods


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 PM.

Contact Us - www.kingpincooling.com - Archive - Top
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3 Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.