kingpincooling.com

Go Back   kingpincooling.com > Overclocking & Modding > Shamino's Lair

Shamino's Lair The master himself, Shamino.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-16-2015, 11:19 AM
coolice coolice is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 48
Default ROG Maximus VIII

OC Guide

OC guide


BIOS

It is a MUST to update via USB BIOS flashback
* Can be updated via EZFlash

Maximus VIII Gene


0004
0004 08/26
0014 *
0015 *

Maximus VIII Hero


0024
0031
0039 *
0040 *
0014 *

Maximus VIII Extreme


0005
0007 *
0015 *

Maximus VIII Impact


0001 *
0014 *

Maximus VIII Formula

0014 *

Maximus VIII Hero Alpha

0015 *

Maximus VIII Ranger

0014 *


Software tool section

TurboV Core

ROG Connect Plus

MemTweakIt

MEI

Chipset Driver

USB3.x Driver

Tools and files for W7/XP USB installation

AHCI driver for XP

Firmware for OC Panel 1 on Z170

Last edited by coolice; 01-12-2016 at 09:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-16-2015, 12:45 PM
StrategosSan's Avatar
StrategosSan StrategosSan is offline
Sub-Ambient
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 51
Default

Once again, very good support from Asus. Keep up the good work!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-17-2015, 12:29 AM
Dumo Dumo is offline
Sub-Ambient
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NYC
Posts: 76
Default

Awesome guide

Thanks TL
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-17-2015, 01:17 AM
CornerJack's Avatar
CornerJack CornerJack is offline
Sub-Zero
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 110
Default

Thanks TL
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-18-2015, 05:13 AM
Woomack Woomack is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks

I have one issue and maybe you know how to solve it. Yesterday I got M8 Hero and I was checking Ripjaws V 3200 2x8GB /Samsung on air. I can reach 3733 without bigger problems but only in B1/B2 memory slots.
When I use 1 memory stick in A1 or A2 then max clock is 3466, which also seems fully stable. At 3600 I always get 55 error regardless what I do.
So far Maximus Tweak 1/2 or any other options didn't help. Raising voltages or relaxing timings make no difference. I'm not sure if I'm missing something or it's hardware issue like it was often happening on haswell.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-18-2015, 08:21 AM
Bassplayer Bassplayer is offline
Sub-Zero
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 112
Default

Sounds like it may be setting RTL's too tight for the second slots.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-18-2015, 09:55 PM
coolice coolice is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Woomack View Post
Thanks

I have one issue and maybe you know how to solve it. Yesterday I got M8 Hero and I was checking Ripjaws V 3200 2x8GB /Samsung on air. I can reach 3733 without bigger problems but only in B1/B2 memory slots.
When I use 1 memory stick in A1 or A2 then max clock is 3466, which also seems fully stable. At 3600 I always get 55 error regardless what I do.
So far Maximus Tweak 1/2 or any other options didn't help. Raising voltages or relaxing timings make no difference. I'm not sure if I'm missing something or it's hardware issue like it was often happening on haswell.
chB is generally better than chA on z170
So far the highest freq we have tested internally are 3400 for 8/16GB module.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-19-2015, 01:33 AM
Woomack Woomack is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 8
Default

Yesterday I was testing some more with 0024 BIOS and I made it boot once ( all 1 time ) at 3600 with 8GB/3200 in A2. In every other case I saw 55 or 41 error code. I was trying to set RTL and other settings but nothing is helping.
Actually on 0024 BIOS I have almost only 41 errors while on 0401 I saw mainly 55.

Older Hynix kit based on 4GB modules also can't pass ~3466 in A1/A2 but in this case it can be memory itself.
Right now I have only Hynix and Micron kits in 4GB modules but I should get 2x4GB 3200 Ripjaws V later this week which supposed to be on Samsung.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-23-2015, 06:30 AM
FlanK3r's Avatar
FlanK3r FlanK3r is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 40
Send a message via ICQ to FlanK3r
Default

this code 55 I dont like . Remember it from Ivy Bridge times also.
__________________
AMD Athlon 3000+, Athlon 3200+, X2 4600+ EE, Athlon 5150 (Kabini), Athlon 860K (Kaveri), AMD Phenom II x2 550 BE,2x PII x4 965 BE, PII 970 BE, PII 975 BE, PII 980 BE, 1090T BE, 1100T BE, AMD A8-3850, A8-3870K, 5600K, 5800K, 6800K, 7850K, FX-8150, FX-8120,FX-4300, FX-6300 FX-8300, FX-8320, FX-8350, FX-8370E, FX-8370, FX-9370, FX-9590. Intel core i7 2600K,core i7-3770K, core i7-4770K, i7 980x, Intel core i7-3930K, i7-5960X
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-31-2015, 10:55 PM
coolhand411's Avatar
coolhand411 coolhand411 is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 22
Default

0004 are pretty good
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 AM.

Contact Us - www.kingpincooling.com - Archive - Top
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3 Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.