kingpincooling.com

Go Back   kingpincooling.com > Overclocking & Modding > Overclocking

Overclocking Overclocking results and KPC hardware pron

Old 09-24-2014, 04:06 PM
Sub-Ambient

Talking My RaspberryPi OC Adventure

Last month i noticed that on Hwbot ongoing Team Cup 2014 so decided to buy Raspberry Pi and compete.

Introduction

Hardware

Bought newest model B+ that have reworked power section, added USB ports, more GPIOs, slot for microSD card and better layout.

*Sorry for pics most is taken after benching so its covered with mix of flux and eraser
all pics clickable

bottom

LAN9514 used for USB<->Ethernet conversion

RAM and under it is hiding BCM2835

Power section-Input USB power connector then on left U3 chip that is taking care of generating 3.3V and 1.8V rails. Other is protection circuitry

Software

As total noob i used latest version of Raspbian available on official site.
Because this image is bigger (~2.7GB) then my old micro SD card (2GB) i have here.
I used USB stick as main storage and on SD card is only necessary boot files.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dom
Use dd or winimage to write the image to the USB stick rather than the sdcard.
Format the sdcard as FAT and copy the files from the FAT partition of the USB stick onto the sdcard (only needs to be about 64M in size).

Change cmdline.txt on sdcard from root=/dev/mmcblk0p2 to root=/dev/sda2
source

Not sure if it have some effect on overclocking
And of course installed latest Java

Modifications

Software

Without any modification max arm clock you can get is 1500MHz but thanks to Rsnubje and dom there is a solution.

Download start_2ghz

Simply rename start_2ghz.elf to start.elf and replace original file that is on same place as config.txt

Hardware

As is well known maximum voltage without hardware modification is 1.4V that you can get with setting over_voltage=8
One way to surpass this limitation is remove inductor L3 and simply solder wire from 1.8V regulator output to Varm