kingpincooling.com

Go Back   kingpincooling.com > Overclocking & Modding > EVGA Overclocking

EVGA Overclocking Dedicated forum for EVGA Overclocking, my other job :)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 03-06-2015, 03:57 PM
cerealkeller cerealkeller is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 24
Default

I wanted to add that for anyone who got screwed with the 3988 version of the 980 Classy like I did, this tool does work. BUT, for me at least, the voltage set in the tool actually applies a voltage that is .3v higher than the set amount. For example. If you set 1.3v in the tool, it will actually set the voltage to 1.6v. So use caution and set it to .3v lower than where you actually want it, or monitor like I did and verify its set correctly. I used a multimeter and the Probe It connector to verify voltage.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 03-07-2015, 12:15 PM
BGaming BGaming is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 9
Default Hey cerealkeller

Quote:
Originally Posted by cerealkeller View Post
I wanted to add that for anyone who got screwed with the 3988 version of the 980 Classy like I did, this tool does work. BUT, for me at least, the voltage set in the tool actually applies a voltage that is .3v higher than the set amount. For example. If you set 1.3v in the tool, it will actually set the voltage to 1.6v. So use caution and set it to .3v lower than where you actually want it, or monitor like I did and verify its set correctly. I used a multimeter and the Probe It connector to verify voltage.
I have that gpu and Im having problems with voltages I cant pass 1.22v, what can i do or any suggestions?
Im new to this so I dnt understand how to put this tool to work.

Im trying, setting up some different voltages and they just dnt change....

Last edited by BGaming; 03-07-2015 at 12:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 03-09-2015, 07:55 PM
cerealkeller cerealkeller is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BGaming View Post
I have that gpu and Im having problems with voltages I cant pass 1.22v, what can i do or any suggestions?
Im new to this so I dnt understand how to put this tool to work.

Im trying, setting up some different voltages and they just dnt change....
Are you going by what the software is reading? The software doesn't report the correct voltage when using this tool. Buy one of these:

http://www.evga.com/Products/Product...W002-00-000010

And a multimeter. You can buy one from pretty much any hardware store or wal mart. Insert the red probe into the far left cable and the black one into the next one to the right from the far left. But do the black one first, then red. Then you will be able to see the true voltage your card is set to.

However, I should point out that pretty large boosts in voltage are required to obtain much increase in clock speeds on these. You're gonna want to do liquid cooling if you go far beyond 1.3v, in my opinion.
And I also want to point out that I said above the difference was .3v, but it's actually more like .25v difference between the tool and actual voltage. 1.075v on the tool is reading 1.325v on the GPU.
You may also want to flash to a different BIOS. But I don't recommend exceeding the factory set 125% power draw unless you go to liquid cooling. EK makes a block for these now. These cards create a hell of a lot of heat for the amount of power they draw.
__________________
ASrock z97 OC Formula
Intel i7 4790K 4.8 GHz
16 GB G Skill Trident X 2666 MHz
SLI EVGA GTX 980 Classified
Corsair Force 3 SSD RAID
Cooler Master RPP 1250w
Win7 x64
Koolance CPU 380i, EK GTX 980 Classy
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 07-18-2015, 11:37 PM
loon iam's Avatar
loon iam loon iam is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 5
Default

nvrmind

Last edited by loon iam; 07-19-2015 at 07:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-30-2018, 07:59 AM
Gunslinger's Avatar
Gunslinger Gunslinger is offline
PURE
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Decatur, AL
Posts: 902
Send a message via MSN to Gunslinger
Default

bump
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 AM.

Contact Us - www.kingpincooling.com - Archive - Top
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3 Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.