kingpincooling.com

Go Back   kingpincooling.com > Overclocking & Modding > TiN's Dungeon

TiN's Dungeon The mad engineer's home at KPC.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-08-2015, 08:23 PM
GIVEitUP83 GIVEitUP83 is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 14
Default dead 980 classy into usable Epower

Ok title says it I had a great experience using epower after a couple of questions TiN had me on the right track and all was well I brought 2 original titans back from the dead !!!
Now I have 2 cards that have dead gpus but all VRM power reads fine so I would like some help turning these into usable ZOMBIES /epower I know there's a lot more to it then solder a power card to pcb and cutting trace
but I won't to learn and I figured these will be a great way to learn since I don't have nothing to lose
Any help will be greatly appreciated

What I've done so far : not much just confirmed vrm is good haven't cut card yet need to know best spot

Card: 980 classy also have a 780ti kp
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-09-2015, 12:11 AM
TiN's Avatar
TiN TiN is offline
Volt-Nut :)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Taipei
Posts: 1,449
Send a message via ICQ to TiN Send a message via Skype™ to TiN
Default

I'll post something later here
__________________
xDevs.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-09-2015, 12:12 AM
TiN's Avatar
TiN TiN is offline
Volt-Nut :)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Taipei
Posts: 1,449
Send a message via ICQ to TiN Send a message via Skype™ to TiN
Default

Meanwhile you can read some older threads:

http://kingpincooling.com/forum/showthread.php?t=980 - here
and here - http://kingpincooling.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1095

It will give you few ideas to think about.
__________________
xDevs.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-09-2015, 08:17 AM
GIVEitUP83 GIVEitUP83 is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 14
Default

Thanks man I'll read up . Also I used your guid and a dead mother board to make a adapter to test graphic card power it works good I used it last night to test a card
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-27-2015, 10:00 AM
GIVEitUP83 GIVEitUP83 is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 14
Default

well i couldnt find the right data sheet on the pin layout for the classy card
but i have found a dead asus strix for $50 that uses DIGI + ASP 1212 controler so now im matching up pins and poking around with multi meter if someone could take a look at it it would be great thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-29-2015, 09:26 AM
TiN's Avatar
TiN TiN is offline
Volt-Nut :)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Taipei
Posts: 1,449
Send a message via ICQ to TiN Send a message via Skype™ to TiN
Default

Well, I would not be able to help you with asus, as I don't have it

Did u get PCIe power adapter to testing VRM?

Now your task would be remove GPU off the card and provide +3.3V power to it.
To do so you can use LDO such as LM1117-3.3 to generate +3.3 from +12V input plug.
__________________
xDevs.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-29-2015, 09:28 AM
TiN's Avatar
TiN TiN is offline
Volt-Nut :)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Taipei
Posts: 1,449
Send a message via ICQ to TiN Send a message via Skype™ to TiN
Default

Good example of such step is depicted here:



Take few photos of your result and we will continue from there.
__________________
xDevs.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-01-2015, 08:37 AM
GIVEitUP83 GIVEitUP83 is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 14
Default

Thanks TIN for responding back and yes I made a pci adapter to check vrm all is well with both cards classy and strix I would rather use classy if I can find data sheet anyways I'm out of town and should be back the weekend I'll post some progress then thanks for the help
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-01-2015, 09:12 PM
TiN's Avatar
TiN TiN is offline
Volt-Nut :)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Taipei
Posts: 1,449
Send a message via ICQ to TiN Send a message via Skype™ to TiN
Default

You don't quite need datasheet actually, just need to make chip "enabled" and provide all power for it, and you will be okay. You are not trying to design everything from zero, so zombie mod is actually easier to do, than to explain it
__________________
xDevs.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-09-2015, 10:41 AM
GIVEitUP83 GIVEitUP83 is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 14
Default

Well I haven't figured out how to post pic off my phone
this what I got so far it's not much between work and my 8 & 5 year old not alot of free time I did get a little time last night I desolder gpu from classy check all voltage everything is good I connected evbot set evbot to 1.26 pressed button and voltage control is working I would like to take next step and cut card I know you said I don't need data sheet so I tried checking with multi meter around the controller till I find 3.3v then follow circuitry to pin vcc am I atleast on the right track I will try and post pics tonight
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23 AM.

Contact Us - www.kingpincooling.com - Archive - Top
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3 Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.