kingpincooling.com

Go Back   kingpincooling.com > Overclocking & Modding > TiN's Dungeon

TiN's Dungeon The mad engineer's home at KPC.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-09-2014, 03:09 AM
RULE RULE is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: ITALY
Posts: 41
Talking If you read too much Tin's guide...4870 DK 512 ePowered

If you read too much Tin's guides, understend our hobby is nothing but simple.

So my first ePower experience was a disaster.

The reasons is simple:
-I've tried the easy way, too much long wires...
-It was my first ever experience with soldering
-I've found a bad gpu don't scale at all, so no good result under cold.

But i moved on.

First of all I buy a pretty decent soldering iron: ERSA 150 S


I've bought a good 4870, this time i've tested it on air cooling, looks a good card over the others i've already tested.


First of all, i prepare the ePower


First touch of new Ersa tool and is amazing

Now prepare the card to receive the ePower

Create a good contant area for GND



I realy want direct soldering the cards pcb to pcb but not fits, so this time i use 2x0,8mm copper layer, a total of 1,6x45mm=72mm2


Now before solder the VCC, i prepare the GND on the back of ePower, with already the right angle to be solder on the card.


Now solder the VCC and GND


Create more GND soldering point on the card


Need to create a better contact point on the Epower too




Final result:



The card works, the gpu resistance drop down from 3.0 ohm to 1.6 ohm.

Next step, gpu pot and LN2

I'm sorry for my english, is realy bad but i'm Italian.

Last edited by RULE; 04-09-2014 at 03:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-09-2014, 06:00 AM
TiN's Avatar
TiN TiN is offline
Volt-Nut :)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Taipei
Posts: 1,450
Send a message via ICQ to TiN Send a message via Skype™ to TiN
Default

Neat. Keep it going..

But that ERSA better to power from dimmer, it's overheating if just plug into mains...
__________________
xDevs.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-09-2014, 10:01 AM
RULE RULE is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: ITALY
Posts: 41
Default

Yes the ERSA is like 420c, i'll try to cut down 1/4 of power.

A couple of question, after soldering is better remove the residue of flux or is just estetic choice?
In your guides i've never see talking about caps. A lot of overclockers add on the card a lot of caps, is realy necesary or only if i see a huge Vdrop under load? And is better place it more close the gpu?

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-10-2014, 07:29 AM
Expat GriZ's Avatar
Expat GriZ Expat GriZ is offline
PURE
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 182
Default

Nice job fella! Waiting for your results.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-14-2014, 12:08 PM
RULE RULE is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: ITALY
Posts: 41
Default

Some test under air cooling.

http://hwbot.org/submission/2529350_


http://hwbot.org/submission/2529351_


Setup


I've notice the card not scale so well as i hoped with volt increase. I measured the size of GND and is almost the half of VCC, in the next day i'll try to solder more GND points.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-15-2014, 09:23 PM
TiN's Avatar
TiN TiN is offline
Volt-Nut :)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Taipei
Posts: 1,450
Send a message via ICQ to TiN Send a message via Skype™ to TiN
Default

Aircooling tests usually waste of time.
Do real stuff, pour some LN2 on that bad boy
__________________
xDevs.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-18-2014, 01:37 PM
RULE RULE is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: ITALY
Posts: 41
Default



Add more copper connection for GND and voltmod the MVDDC/MVVDQ



Ready tomorrow for LN2 test
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-22-2014, 03:20 AM
RULE RULE is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: ITALY
Posts: 41
Default

Worst bench weekend ever....
Gpu died in 10 minutes, no time for any result...
And is not the only one, but the first of a disaster session.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-28-2014, 02:28 PM
RULE RULE is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: ITALY
Posts: 41
Default

And the final chapter...




Personal revenge against the card!

If someone can help me for replace the inductors, i've trashed the old...

R56D 826E means 0,56uH and 826E is the package?


Last edited by RULE; 04-28-2014 at 03:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-29-2014, 02:01 AM
TiN's Avatar
TiN TiN is offline
Volt-Nut :)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Taipei
Posts: 1,450
Send a message via ICQ to TiN Send a message via Skype™ to TiN
Default

Yes, you can use almost any 0.4-0.6uH in there, just make sure current rating (Isat) is at least 25A @ 80C
__________________
xDevs.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 AM.

Contact Us - www.kingpincooling.com - Archive - Top
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3 Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.