kingpincooling.com

Go Back   kingpincooling.com > Overclocking & Modding > Hardware Modding

Hardware Modding Soldering, deciphering datasheets, tricks and tips.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-24-2014, 07:41 AM
bartx bartx is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TiN View Post
Good, keep it going..

Try keep wires shorter, this is not so good now on your pics.
Also i'd keep 16V caps as that voltage plane my go some other parts, like memory PWM input or something.
And I'd shhrrr-shrrrr much more on motherboard to have wide and solid connection for power planes.

And don't forget grounds! You need keep same or more wire amount for ground return. Current flows from power to ground, it must be adequate to have all that power return back to VRM card, or you will have big problems
It's not so easy to make these wires shorter on this 8800 board. Too bad, that neither I nor Ivanov have a scope to test quality of power supply. Also the most important thing is to connect vsense from 8800 to back of the gpu/socket - it really makes huge difference in load stabiliy.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-24-2014, 09:37 AM
Splave's Avatar
Splave Splave is offline
Liquid Nitrogen
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rochester
Posts: 547
Default

looks extremely clean dont you just hate where they put the 20 pin XD
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Andre View Post
Magic hand=one pcs.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-24-2014, 11:24 AM
TiN's Avatar
TiN TiN is offline
Volt-Nut :)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Taipei
Posts: 1,449
Send a message via ICQ to TiN Send a message via Skype™ to TiN
Default

Quote:
but it is not so simple
Overclocking or altering hardware is nothing but simple, so no, that's not an excuse.
Why say so?
Well, motherboard have two sides. And guess what, even not having motherboard in hand, i can see on photos that original inductors were thru-hole DIP type. So big chance that you could solder epower/8800gtx vrm on bottom side of board, directly to power plane copper

Quote:
They couldn't be bigger without making short circuit
Also can see big copper plane going to CPU socket. Is that not vcore plane?
If yes - there is plenty of available copper
__________________
xDevs.com
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-25-2014, 06:07 AM
ivanov's Avatar
ivanov ivanov is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Poland
Posts: 17
Default

I have a friend with oscilloscope. I will arrange measurements

I checked this plane directly under the socket and indeed it would be good.
But I wonder if benefits of shorting the electrical path would overcome benefits of better filtering.

When I solder to this plane under the CPU I will omit capacitors. Moreover the cables will be longer. And final thing - soldering planes on 8800 PWM will be still the same. And for now they are the same size as on the ASRock.
And don't forget about problems with insulating such thing with thick wires nearly directly under the socket :P


As for now I added two more GND cables. And I am choosing tantalum capacitors for the board.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-27-2014, 11:47 AM
George_o/c's Avatar
George_o/c George_o/c is offline
Sub-Zero
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Greece
Posts: 100
Default

Nice one mate

Stelaras had a similar idea for these boards, let us know how it goes
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-27-2014, 01:32 PM
ivanov's Avatar
ivanov ivanov is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Poland
Posts: 17
Default

This is how it looks now with two more GND cables.



And this is what I use to solder this thick wires.
It has 200W and I persume it was designed for soldering gutter. Tip is much bigger than my thumb xD
For size comparison my "regular use" 80W soldering iron.



I am waiting for capacitors. As soon as they arrive and I solder them I will post the results
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-29-2014, 04:58 PM
ivanov's Avatar
ivanov ivanov is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Poland
Posts: 17
Default

Ok, some update.

I soldered new Panasonic 16V capacitors back to the place, where old 16V ones were.

Tried OCCT Linpack on E7200.
Results were so-so. Not so bad, but could be better.
V-drop was noticable both on software redout and on DMM.
V-core was kind a fluctuating a bit under load.





This is how vSense looked like (red wires soldered to SMD capacitor).



As bartx adviced me, I soldered vSense directly underneath the socket.
The change was clearly noticable V-drop was significantly smaller!
It looks good on software readout, but on DMM it looked even better.
You could say, that the voltage was really stable. Satisfying improvement







Soon I will make some tests on QX6700 (as for now I'm not so brave yet to put there QX9770 :P).

Also more capacitors will be added in the future.
__________________

Last edited by ivanov; 01-29-2014 at 05:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-29-2014, 09:34 PM
TiN's Avatar
TiN TiN is offline
Volt-Nut :)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Taipei
Posts: 1,449
Send a message via ICQ to TiN Send a message via Skype™ to TiN
Default

Those sense wires need to be twisted or coax for best performance. You don't want all noise to be picked up by your sense signal, do u?
__________________
xDevs.com
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-30-2014, 04:20 AM
ivanov's Avatar
ivanov ivanov is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Poland
Posts: 17
Default

That is good to know, thank you master

Will it be sufficient if I twist the existing cables myself?


I have also came up with an idea of making AGP current booster. I will try to solder it today.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-30-2014, 09:05 AM
ivanov's Avatar
ivanov ivanov is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Poland
Posts: 17
Default

I twisted the cables. Will it do?





I also made the current booster, that I mentioned.





__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:14 PM.

Contact Us - www.kingpincooling.com - Archive - Top
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3 Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.