kingpincooling.com

Go Back   kingpincooling.com > Overclocking & Modding > TiN's Dungeon

TiN's Dungeon The mad engineer's home at KPC.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-24-2013, 06:20 PM
Skyline Skyline is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4
Default 6950 RAM VRM Replace

Hi to all kingpincooling's members
I've got a Gigabyte 6950 video card with VRM chip VT243WF cracked due to misaligned or careless cooler assamble.I got it for spare parts or repairs from a friend (the guy who killed it) and I want to make a zombie mod for it since I can't find anywhere those chips. First of all the upper two choke which provides power to RAM have 0.0V, the other six have 1.12V so the GPU is fine.I want to ask if it's safe to remove VRMs and bridge R23 and provide 1.5V from another source? Thanks in advance

Code:
http://oi46.tinypic.com/166m98l.jpg

Last edited by Skyline; 03-24-2013 at 07:19 PM. Reason: Upload pic
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-25-2013, 04:26 AM
TM3K- TM3K- is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: POLAND
Posts: 15
Default

I've posted with the same problem here.

http://kingpincooling.com/forum/show...&postcount=103

So, we'll waiting for a help together
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-25-2013, 10:54 AM
Skyline Skyline is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4
Default

Yeah, same situation but looks a little bit simpler since you have just only one phase for RAM. I'd try to desolder VT236WF and check resistance between GND and 'PULSE' choke, it should be more than 100ohms.Also I think this goes back to PWM controller for feedback and I'm not sure if we must leave it or lift the pin
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-25-2013, 02:54 PM
Bobnova Bobnova is offline
Sub-Zero
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 145
Default

Seems like you could probably just pull the inductors (R30 boxy things) off and Zombie from there. I'm not overly familiar with Volterra bits though. If there's a PWR_GOOD trace between the self contained bit that cracked and the master controller or core you may need to cut it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-25-2013, 04:15 PM
Skyline Skyline is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobnova View Post
Seems like you could probably just pull the inductors (R30 boxy things) off and Zombie from there. I'm not overly familiar with Volterra bits though. If there's a PWR_GOOD trace between the self contained bit that cracked and the master controller or core you may need to cut it.
I have removed both volterra chips so all pads are disconnected. R23 should be safe from controller.It is okay to bridge R23 and provide 1.5V?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-26-2013, 09:30 AM
Bobnova Bobnova is offline
Sub-Zero
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 145
Default

I'd think so. Like I said, I haven't worked with those much.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-28-2013, 03:54 AM
Skyline Skyline is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4
Default

I can confirm it's working with zombie card. Any ideea how to disable power saving mode? When the Catalyst kicks in it will downclock to 150MHz/0.9V. I need to say all time in all modes with >1.25V (Default 1.5V @ 1250)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-28-2013, 09:35 AM
Bobnova Bobnova is offline
Sub-Zero
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 145
Default

I've seen a "force 3d clocks / voltages" in a few different GPU overclocking apps, that's the first place to go.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-03-2013, 06:12 AM
War_Machine's Avatar
War_Machine War_Machine is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skyline View Post
I can confirm it's working with zombie card. Any ideea how to disable power saving mode? When the Catalyst kicks in it will downclock to 150MHz/0.9V. I need to say all time in all modes with >1.25V (Default 1.5V @ 1250)
I had the same problem, do you place the photo of my graphics card with the resistance readings, the two inducers of memory were already 'disconnected but the resistance reading is not' changed, and after reading a few posts talking about zombie-resistance for the memory card should be 50-100 ohm, I do not know if this value applies to all graphics cards. I wanted to ask your volori before you zombified the graphics card to compare with mine. From the way I read your zombification worked?

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-23-2014, 03:28 PM
barochniy barochniy is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 11
Default

I think thatthis information isthe best.
__________________
dubli

Last edited by barochniy; 08-17-2014 at 05:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42 PM.

Contact Us - www.kingpincooling.com - Archive - Top
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3 Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.