kingpincooling.com

kingpincooling.com (http://forum.kingpincooling.com/index.php)
-   TiN's Dungeon (http://forum.kingpincooling.com/forumdisplay.php?f=31)
-   -   6950 RAM VRM Replace (http://forum.kingpincooling.com/showthread.php?t=2250)

Skyline 03-24-2013 06:20 PM

6950 RAM VRM Replace
 
Hi to all kingpincooling's members
I've got a Gigabyte 6950 video card with VRM chip VT243WF cracked due to misaligned or careless cooler assamble.I got it for spare parts or repairs from a friend (the guy who killed it) and I want to make a zombie mod for it since I can't find anywhere those chips. First of all the upper two choke which provides power to RAM have 0.0V, the other six have 1.12V so the GPU is fine.I want to ask if it's safe to remove VRMs and bridge R23 and provide 1.5V from another source? Thanks in advance

Code:

http://oi46.tinypic.com/166m98l.jpg

TM3K- 03-25-2013 04:26 AM

I've posted with the same problem here.

http://kingpincooling.com/forum/show...&postcount=103

So, we'll waiting for a help together :)

Skyline 03-25-2013 10:54 AM

Yeah, same situation but looks a little bit simpler since you have just only one phase for RAM. I'd try to desolder VT236WF and check resistance between GND and 'PULSE' choke, it should be more than 100ohms.Also I think this goes back to PWM controller for feedback and I'm not sure if we must leave it or lift the pin

Bobnova 03-25-2013 02:54 PM

Seems like you could probably just pull the inductors (R30 boxy things) off and Zombie from there. I'm not overly familiar with Volterra bits though. If there's a PWR_GOOD trace between the self contained bit that cracked and the master controller or core you may need to cut it.

Skyline 03-25-2013 04:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bobnova (Post 25077)
Seems like you could probably just pull the inductors (R30 boxy things) off and Zombie from there. I'm not overly familiar with Volterra bits though. If there's a PWR_GOOD trace between the self contained bit that cracked and the master controller or core you may need to cut it.

I have removed both volterra chips so all pads are disconnected. R23 should be safe from controller.It is okay to bridge R23 and provide 1.5V?

Bobnova 03-26-2013 09:30 AM

I'd think so. Like I said, I haven't worked with those much.

Skyline 03-28-2013 03:54 AM

I can confirm it's working with zombie card. Any ideea how to disable power saving mode? When the Catalyst kicks in it will downclock to 150MHz/0.9V. I need to say all time in all modes with >1.25V (Default 1.5V @ 1250)

Bobnova 03-28-2013 09:35 AM

I've seen a "force 3d clocks / voltages" in a few different GPU overclocking apps, that's the first place to go.

War_Machine 08-03-2013 06:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skyline (Post 25090)
I can confirm it's working with zombie card. Any ideea how to disable power saving mode? When the Catalyst kicks in it will downclock to 150MHz/0.9V. I need to say all time in all modes with >1.25V (Default 1.5V @ 1250)

I had the same problem, do you place the photo of my graphics card with the resistance readings, the two inducers of memory were already 'disconnected but the resistance reading is not' changed, and after reading a few posts talking about zombie-resistance for the memory card should be 50-100 ohm, I do not know if this value applies to all graphics cards. I wanted to ask your volori before you zombified the graphics card to compare with mine. From the way I read your zombification worked?

http://warmachine1983.deviantart.com...-135-390403256

barochniy 06-23-2014 03:28 PM

I think thatthis information isthe best.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3 Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.